I’ll be at AASLH in Birmingham this week, talking about history practice with the biggest gathering of small history museum professionals there is.

I’m giving a talk Thursday at 1:30 pm:

Vintage or Artifact? Collecting the 20th and 21st Centuries

At what point do we consider an object old enough to be an artifact? Must an item be rare to be worthy of collecting? This panel discussion will explore these questions and make the case for why history museums should be collecting contemporary, even mass-produced items today.

The panelists are me, Veronica Rodriguez from the Rosie the Riveter National Historical Park, and Leslie Howard in absentia (we’ll be sharing the results of her survey of small history museums on collecting contemporary artifacts.)  Please come and talk about collecting with us.

On Friday night I’ll be at the awards banquet, picking up an award the museum and our partners at Sacramento State won for a collaborative exhibit.

In my down time I hope to visit a zillion museums–there are great history of technology sites there as well as civil rights museums.  If you see me around please say hi!