I am extremely delighted to announce that I have been appointed Associate Curator of Technology at the Henry Ford in Dearborn, Mich.  Not only is this an opportunity to work with fantastic collections and fantastic people, it’s also an opportunity for me to move back to my hometown of Detroit.  I’ll be doing work on the history of recent technology and working on web projects and all sorts of other things at “America’s greatest history attraction.”

So, what does this mean for the blog?  I will still focus lots of energy on local history and the small museum situation (small history museums are staying strong at about 60% of American museums!), but expect to see rather less Minnesota-centric content. I probably won’t be telling you the news from Fergus Falls anymore, but will be doing more regional museum and public history coverage.  Also, I hope to be doing Detroit history/preservation work as a volunteer, so I’ll be able to give you some volunteer (or maybe board) perspectives on the local history scene.  I am very happy, also, that my epic job search is over, and I will give you a stats post and summary of my job search presently, as an example and perhaps as a caution to emerging public historians and museum professionals.

Though I’ll certainly miss my museum colleagues and all my friends in Minnesota, I’m excited for this terrific new opportunity.  I start September 15.  See you in Detroit!